News 2014
April 18, 2014
Emily Zytkiewicz (Record Lab) Earns Scholarship   

Emily Zytkiewicz, a junior Biochemistry major, is the recipient of the 2014 Adult Student Scholarship Award. Congratulations!

April 18, 2014
Amanda Beltrame Named Alpha-Helix Scholar   

Amanda Beltrame, a sophomore Biochemistry major, is the 2014 Alpha-Helix Scholar.

The Perry and Carolyn Frey Life Sciences Scholarship Fund is named not only in tribute to Professor Frey’s outstanding teaching and research career, but also honors Perry and Carolyn’s dedication to the many people they influenced and touched in some way over the years.

The fund supports the α-Helix Scholarship, which is awarded to an undergraduate student enrolled in the Departments of Biochemistry, Bacteriology, Genetics, or Nutritional Sciences within the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

April 16, 2014
Douglas Weibel wins Pound Research Award   

Doug Weibel is the 2014 recipient of the UW-College of Agricultural and Life Sciences Pound Research Award. The award is given to honor an outstanding early career CALS research scientist and to promote continued excellence in research.

Click here for more details...

April 3, 2014
Ron Raines Appointed to WARF Professorship   

Linus Pauling Professor of Chemical Biology, has produced an enzyme in clinical trials as an anti-cancer agent, created stable synthetic collagens and devised chemical processes to convert biomass into refined fuels and chemicals.

The Professorship provides recognition for distinguished research contributions of the UW-Madison faculty. The awards are intended to honor those faculty who have made major contributions to the advancement of knowledge, primarily through their research endeavors, but also as a result of their teaching and service activities.

The appointment, which include $75,000 in research support from WARF over five years.

Click here for more details...

March 28, 2014
36th Steenbock Symposium: Enzyme Structure and Function   

This symposium is hosted by the Department of Biochemistry and is in honor of the life of W. W. Cleland,
our colleague and friend. The symposium will bring together leading scientists in the field to discuss their
most recent research activities, and how they have been influenced by Professor Cleland’s remarkable
contributions to enzyme chemistry.

The symposium promises to be both a great scientific experience as well as a chance for friends to
come together to celebrate the life of our “mechanistic hero.”

Abstract and Registration
Deadline: Early registration by February 28th; regular registration by April 15th

Click here for more details...

March 28, 2014
37th Steenbock Symposium: The Future of Chemical Biology   

The 37th Steenbock Symposium “The Future of Chemical Biology” will be held at Ebling Auditorium on the campus of the University of Wisconsin-Madison June 5-7, 2014. The symposium, organized by Dr. Laura Kiessling, will feature research presentations from over twenty exceptional chemical biologists from the United States and Canada.

April 15, 2014 is the deadline to submit poster abstracts and to receive a discounted registration fee.

Registration closes on May 28, 2014. Please see the web-site for more information and to register.

Click here for more details...

March 25, 2014
Dedication ceremony of the Hector F. Deluca Biochemical Sciences Complex   

Please join the University of Wisconsin-Madison Department of Biochemistry, the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation and the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences for a public dedication ceremony of the Hector F. Deluca Biochemical Sciences Complex.

Thursday, April 24, 2014
Biochemical Sciences Atrium and Courtyard
440 Henry Mall
Madison, WI  53706

Picnic lunch 12:00 p.m.
Program 1:00 p.m.

This event is free and open to the public. Lunch will be served while supplies last.

March 24, 2014
Cox Lab in the News   

Capitalizing on the ability of an organism to evolve in response to punishment from a hostile environment, scientists have coaxed the model bacterium Escherichia coli to dramatically resist ionizing radiation and, in the process, reveal the genetic mechanisms that make the feat possible.

Click here for more details...

March 24, 2014
Laura Kiessling Wins National American Chemical Society Award   

Laura Kiessling will receive the Alfred Bader Award in Bioinorganic or Bioorganic Chemistry. The award, established in 1986, is sponsored by the Alfred R. Bader Fund.

Click here for more details...

March 12, 2014
Ron Raines Named Givaudan-Karrer Distinguished Visiting Professor   

The University of Zurich has named Professor Ron Raines as the 2014 Givaudan-Karrer Distinguished Visiting Professor. The professorship is named for Paul Karrer, a Swiss Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, and is sponsored by Givaudan SA, a Swiss manufacturer of flavorings and fragrances. Professor Raines will present a series of 12 lectures at Universität Zürich in April 2014.

Click here for more details...

January 27, 2014
Sussman and group identify key pathway for plant cell growth   

The new study describes a hormone secreted by the plant and a surface receptor known as a protein kinase. The hormone uses the receptor to influence a cell’s ability to elongate, to accommodate the growth and development of roots, stems, leaves and other plant parts.

Click here for more details...

January 14, 2014
Rika Khadria Wins 'Dance Your Ph.D.' Competition   

Ambalika (Rika) Khadria, a doctoral candidate in biochemistry in the Senes lab, found the right moves to demonstrate her methods for exploring the proteins key to cell division in bacteria, choreographing a winning entry in the 2013 Dance Your Ph.D. contest sponsored by Science magazine and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

The 'FRETting' tendency of the bacterial protein! from Ambalika Khadria on Vimeo.

Click here for more details...



Copyright 2014 – This page last modified 2/6/2011

Website Feedback, questions or other issues